‘Girl, goddess, queen’ by Bea Fitzgerald

To hell with love, this goddess has other plans…

Thousands of years ago, the gods told a lie: how Persephone was a pawn in the politics of other gods. How Hades kidnapped Persephone to be his bride. How her mother, Demeter, was so distraught she caused the Earth to start dying.

The real story is much more interesting.

Persephone wasn’t taken to hell: she jumped. There was no way she was going to be married off to some smug god more in love with himself than her.

Now all she has to do is convince the Underworld’s annoyingly sexy, arrogant and frankly rude ruler, Hades, to fall in line with her plan. A plan that will shake Mount Olympus to its very core.

But consequences can be deadly, especially when you’re already in hell . . .

I had had this book pre-ordered as soon as it was available to do so. I was so incredibly excited for it and followed Bea Fitzgerald on Instagram throughout its process absorbing each bit of information and teaser she revealed for us ( I would highly recommend following her if you are interested in mythology as not only does she promote her book but she makes hilarious videos about the stories). I was worried because of the amount I built it up in my head it might disappoint, but it exceeded all my expectations.

‘Girl, goddess, queen’ is a retelling of the story of Persephone and Hades. When Persephone’s hand in marriage is wagered off by her parents, Zeus and Demeter, to one of the Olympian Gods, Persephone decides to take matters into her own hands and jump into the underworld. Deciding the dark, mysterious and extraordinarily attractive Hades, could be no worse than the Gods of Olympus she draws him into a bond of Xenia trapping them in an unbreakable connection. However, when it becomes clear this might not be enough to escape the wrath of her mother and Zeus and her location and safety are put in jeopardy the pair decide to do something which could either save or destroy them. Get married. Entering a courtship of trickery and lies, Persephone must keep a steady head in order to keep up her facade, but how will she cope when the facade fades and is replaced by true emotion…

As much as I am a stereotypical lover of Ancient Greek mythology, I have read relatively little mythology retellings but I think this has begun a new obsession. I adored this story. The story of Hades and Persephone is a relatively well known tale in the scheme of Greek myths, used as an example of Hades deception and evilness trapping the young Persephone as his wife in the underworld, but this story shifts that as Persephone is the one who decides to trap Hades in order to escape a life she fears most. I loved this version as it painted Persephone as less of a pawn in the male God’s game and instead revealed her independence and power creating a feminist image of female empowerment. I think it was so interesting how the author explored her role as Goddess of Flowers and the actual power she held, depicting her as more important than just Hades wife. In a world of extremely male centric stories, the author manages to weave a story of femininity and importance.

This book had all of the stereotypical tropes, intentional or not, but that is not a criticism in any sense. The enemies-friends-lovers trope was the main one of prominence and it is honestly one of my favorites. The tense atmosphere and hidden flirtations made me smile openly as I read, and the way Hades is written has unlocked a crush I never expected. Hades is completely different from any way I have ever seen him portrayed. Whilst he maintains the cold and sinister exterior, once Persephone breaks his barriers we are introduced to a gentle and lovable man who cares for his home and deals with the trauma and guilt that comes with being the God of the Underworld. These layers added so much depth to Hades that I think it would have been a feat for someone to not love him.

Whilst Hades has been added to my fictional lover’s list, Styx has to be the best character. I am not the only one who believes this as all the other reviews have mentioned this. Her sarcasm and role as the honorary best friend was hilarious alongside the fact she is the personification of the River of Styx meaning she held all the secrets of the Gods, so throughout the whole faked courtship and deceit she knew their true feelings and connection which was hilarious to read.

I think what made me love this book so much, was not just how incredible the story and writing was but the first publication event I attended was for this. The author is from my hometown and so in one of my local bookshops she did a talk and interview which I attended. I loved hearing her inspirations and some background to the book as it changed the way I understood and read the story. I think it’s so inspiring that someone from a small town could become such a successful writer and I can’t wait to see what else she produces for us.

So for anyone who loves Greek mythology, romance or the friends-lovers trope I would recommend this book till I’m blue in the face!

Ratings:

Setting: 4.5 pink pyjamas

Character: 5 pink pyjamas

Plot: 5 pink pyjamas

Leave a comment